CHRISTMAS TREES and suicide,…a nice combination

Posted: December 1, 2012 in Uncategorized

Joe Quatrone, Jr. says:

You are becoming a great writer! Your punctuation is clear. Your words inspire emotion. I write more out of necessity, rather than gifting. My gift is to preach, not write. But when I am faced with the choice of either not preaching or writing, I choose to write. It is the lesser of two evils, so to speak. In just the 9 or so short months I have been blogging, I am very thankful and grateful we have become close friends (or as close as we can be considering the miles between us). You are my friend and I appreciate everything about you.

I view less than ideal situations as opportunities for growth. In other words there is no such thing as an obstacle, only an opportunity (I didn’t steal that line from Joel Osteen). A few years ago, I actually wrote a book about my life. I was planning to send it to Oprah and Dr. Phil, but then my computer crashed and I lost the document. Oh no! Not only had I lived a tragic life story, but this incident with my computer crashing was tragic in and of itself. I had hundreds of computer pages typed, but my life story had disappeared. It is way too long for me to do it again. I have no desire to re-hash old memories from the past. So, I moved on. I chose to focus on the good instead of the bad. I now look at my obstacles as opportunities for growth. I do not forget all the pain from my past, but I am now considering all that hurt necessary to bring me to where I am today. If it were not for my suffering, I would have never changed.

I once remember challenging someone about something inappropriate in their life. I said, “What you are doing is wrong. You need to change.” They dismissed me though as critical. We are still friends today, but we have agreed to disagree on this, I guess.

Change can feel awkward, but it is sometimes necessary to get to the greater place where God wants us to be. Surgery is painful, but again it is sometimes necessary, so we can heal. I have been to the emergency room more times than I can remember – broken arms, broken legs, broken fingers, car accident, life-support, etc. Since I do not want to go through those painful situations again, I have learned what I must do differently to avoid the pain I once suffered. One of the things I learned was to abide in Jesus, putting continual trust in the truth of His words and the certainty of His love. To look at my circumstances – abuse, abandonment, persecution, poverty – and conclude I am not loved by Jesus is the opposite of abiding in Christ. To abide in Him means continuing to believe, moment-by-moment, day-by-day, that I am loved by Him. And this is where I want to encourage you. Everything that comes into your life, under Jesus’ sovereign authority, (Mt. 8:8) is part of His love for you. If it is painful, He says, “Fear not, for the worst that can happen is death, and I have overcome death. I will be with you to the end and you will be repaid at the resurrection of the just” (Mt. 10:28, 28:20; Lk. 14:14; Jn. 11:25-26).  God’s favor is upon you! (that line is from Joel Osteen).

I am struggling too, my friend. It seems this is part of the human condition. Please know my prayers are with you.

  • johnedoe says:

    Yo joe bro!!!! I’m glad it made you think. I’m glad it made you feel something. whatever that something may be. This piece is actually an old piece. The longer and edited version will be in my book,…when the time comes. All that you have ever read that I have written on wordpress have only been my “rough notes.” I write very fast, to only capture my basic thoughts, and or feelings. I have recently (as well as in the past) been adding to all that I have ever posted. punctuation, etc,….one has to truly “want” to follow what I write, and be willing to do so with patience,…much patience,…

    As a human,…I write about very human things and experiences,…some of “my experiences”, I pray that others will never experience. but, some can and will relate to what I have been through,…others won’t. Such is life, right?????

    As a christian,…I write about very human things and experiences,…(do you see the common thread there??? heh heh)…I know that I write about some “unpopular” scriptures,…I do so with purpose. I do so with intent. Why wouldn’t I???

    Every word in the Bible is there for a reason. And a purpose. The purpose of every word is to bring us more spiritual freedom and increase our “closeness” with god and jesus. In other words, they are there for us to have PEACE. TRUE PEACE.

    they are also there for us to have CONTENTMENT (SOUND FAMILIAR, JOE?)

    i sat to just say, “glad you liked it”, but instead, i am letting my fingers keep moving,……..

    contentment?????????? here is a very good example. i picked up my youngest son last evening about 5;30. we went and cut a christmas tree together in the oklahoma back woods. it is a beautiful cedar. this we delivered to my mother’s house. and it smells great too, by the way. she loved it when she saw it. i had stoood it up outside as my son rang her doorbell,…………..do you think that she “really” loved the tree, joe??? what she loved was seeing her son, together with his son,…after many lost and missed years of our life. is this the contentment part? not yet.

    a new friend and also tattoo customer, in appreciation for my tattoo work, had given me an enormous train set. the engine itself is about 5 inches long (you may have had one as a kid) i could easily make a track 50 feet long!!! this guy had combined 3 different train sets! so,…my son and i began assembling it in my mom’s living room floor. which she didn’t protest. i watched as she made cookies and played with my son. she put on christmas music cd’s, and her house came to life. childhood memories (only “good” childhood memories) peacefully flooded my soul. my spirit rested. my mom danced with my son. they laughed together.

    contentment??? why am i writing about contentment now??? during all that we did last night, for the first time in my life in many, many, many, years,…….I FELT AS IF I HAD TO BE ABSOLUTELY NO WHERE ELSE!!!!!!!!!!!!!,……..i was right where i wanted and needed to be. i know now that the rest of my life will be this way. why do i say that i know?????

    as i have grown. as i have learned different things that are written in the bible. as i have practiced what i have learned. as i have looked inside of me. i have learned how to accept myself. there is (for me) no suchj thing as this closure thing, which some seek. there is only acceptance…………

    i know who i am. i know the wrongs which i have done in life. i know the mistakes which i have made. i have the memories. i always will. as we learn, and practice what we are taught by jesus, the memories must take a far back seat,…..and further back each day, as the new “good and godly” memories simply replace the old,…………..do we RRRREEEEAAALLLLLLLYYYYYYY WANT, WHAT SO MANY OF US SAY THAT WE WANT???? ESPECIALLY, “WE”, AS CHRISTIANS???

    ok,….so much more to say, but i’m gonna pause now. my little boy wants cereal,……..”IF MY SON WANTS CEREAL, WILL I GIVE HIM NEGLECT????”,…..heh heh heh,…….hey joe, does that sort of sound familiar??? hhhmmmmmmm,…FAMILIAR??? FAMILY???,…….coincidence??? i think not.

    yeah,…..i believe in jesus,……….and the coolest part is,…..JESUS BELIEVED IN ME. and HE STILL DOES,………………………………………………………………………………he knocks now through my child,…

 

Comments

Leave a Reply

